- 
Cebuano
 - 
ceb
Chinese (Simplified)
 - 
zh-CN
English
 - 
en
Filipino
 - 
tl
French
 - 
fr
Italian
 - 
it
Japanese
 - 
ja
Korean
 - 
ko
Spanish
 - 
es

☏ (775) 329 – 9274

  290 S. Arlington Ave.,  Reno, NV 89501

FACTS ABOUT THE DIOCESE OF RENO

Established: March 27, 1931, as the Diocese of Reno by His Holiness Pope Pius XI; Canonical
Erection of the Diocese, August 19, 1931; designated Diocese of Reno-Las Vegas by Pope Paul VI,
October 13, 1976; Re-designated as the Diocese of Reno by Pope John Paul II, March 21, 1995.
The Diocese of Reno covers 70,852 square miles, and includes the following counties: Washoe,
Humboldt, Elko, Eureka, Lander, Pershing, Churchill, Mineral, Lyon, Carson City, Storey and
Douglas.

 

Legal Title: “The Roman Catholic Bishop of Reno, and His Successors, a Corporation Sole.”

 

Patrons of the Diocese: Our Lady of the Snows (August 5); The Holy Family (Sunday in the Octave
of Christmas); Established through an Apostolic Brief dated August 24, 1933.
Dedication of St. Thomas Aquinas, July, 1907; Elevated to a Cathedral, March 27, 1931; Dedicated
as Cathedral Church, August 19, 1931.

First Diocesan Synod: September 27, 1957
Second Diocesan Synod: December 2, 2016

There are 28 parishes; 6 missions; 1 station; 2 day care centers; 4 elementary schools; and 1 high
school in the Diocese.

There is one active Bishop and two retired Bishops, 36 active priests, 15 retired priests, and 38
permanent deacons, 3 seminarians, 15 sisters and 2 brothers.

CHANCERY OFFICE LOCATION

The Diocese of Reno Chancery Office is located at:

 

290 S. Arlington Ave.,  Reno, NV 89501

 

Our parking is located on Ridge street, with the entrance into the office also on Ridge Street.  PLEASE for COVID precautions, only staff and those with appointments are permitted entry into the office area.

 

The Mailing Address is:
 290 S. Arlington Ave.
 Reno, NV  89501-1713.

 

We are open Monday – Friday, 8:30am-4:30pm.

 

P: (775) 329-9274
P: (775) 326-9410
F: (775) 348-8619
Inside Nevada Only – 800-255-0688
(Phone numbers listed are direct-dial lines)

DIRECTORY OF CHANCERY OFFICE STAFF

Most Reverend Daniel H. Mueggenborg, D.D., S.T.L.

 

Chancellor: Deacon Joseph Bell, M.Th.
775-372-9786, josephb@catholicreno.org

 

Vice-Chancellor: Mr. Tom Malone
775-326-9428, tomm@catholicreno.org

 

Vicar General: Reverend Charles Durante
775-329-2571, fr.chuck@stacathedral.com

 

Vicar for Clergy: Reverend Joseph C. Abraham, J.C.L.
775-326-9411, josepha@catholicreno.org


Main Phone Number: 775-326-9419, Fax: 775-382-1041

 

Judicial Vicar: Reverend Joseph C. Abraham, J.C.L.
775-326-9411, josepha@catholicreno.org

 

Secretary: Piedad Gonzalez
775-326-9411, piedadg@catholicreno.org

 

Promoter of Justice & Defender of the Bond: Reverend Robert Hayes, J.C.L.

 

Defender of the Bond: Rev. Thomas J. Fransiscus, C.SS.R., J.C.L.

Advocates:

Br. Matthew Cunningham, FSR
Reverend Philip George, MOCL
Reverend Joe Walsh

 

Promoter of Justice: Reverend Chuck Durante, Vicar General

Chief Financial Officer: Mr. Richard Todd
775-326-9417, richardt@catholicreno.org

 

Payroll/Group Health Benefits: Mrs. Katherine Mello
775-326-9422, katherinem@catholicreno.org

 

Accounts Payable/Receivable: Mrs. Rita San Paolo-Oueilhe
775-326-9435, ritas@catholicreno.org

 

Human Resources: Mrs. Tara Snow
775-326-9425, taras@catholicreno.org

Supervisors of Catholic Schools: Mr. Matthew Schambari
775-326-9430, matthew.schambari@bishopmanogue.org

 

Protecting God’s Children®: Mrs. Elda Juarez
775-326-9445, eldaj@catholicreno.org

 

Administrative Assistant: Ms. Elizabeth Ramos
775-326-9420, elizabethr@catholicreno.org

 

Victim Advocate: Toll Free in Northern Nevada 1-844-669-8911 or Fax 1-844-861-8339

 

Victim’s Advocate: Mrs. Marilyn Janka
775-753-9542

Faith Formation & Evangelization Director: Mrs. Marina Hedwall
775-326-9439, marinah@catholicreno.org

 

Coordinator of Youth & Young Adult Ministry: Mr. David Willems
775-372-6456, davidw@catholicreno.org

 

Ethnic Ministries Director: Mrs. Maripaz Ramos
775-326-9423, maripazr@catholicreno.org

 

Permanent Diaconate Formation: Deacon Joseph Bell
775-372-9786, josephb@catholicreno.org

 

Administrative Assistants: Ms. Breanna Balmut
775-326-9434, breannab@catholicreno.org

 

Ms. Elizabeth Ramos
775-326-9420, elizabethr@catholicreno.org

 

Ethnic Ministries Assistant: 775-326-9415

Chief Development Officer: Mr. Michael Quilici
775-326-9432, mikeq@catholicreno.org

 

Exec. Administrative Assistant: Mrs. Carmen Godoy
775-326-9433, carmeng@catholicreno.org

 

Administrative Assistant: Mrs. Paola Valdez
775-326-4444, paolav@catholicreno.org

Communications Director: Mr. JB Benna
775-326-9446, hdc@catholicreno.org

Vocations Team: Bishop Daniel Mueggenborg
Contact Info: 775-326-9428, tomm@catholicreno.org, vocations@catholicreno.org

Mailing address: P.O. Box 10930, Reno, NV 89510
775-326-9428, tomm@catholicreno.org

Editor-in-Chief: Mr. JB Benna
775-326-9446, hdc@catholicreno.org

Executive Secretary: Mrs. Rita Sloan
775-849-1653, rwksloan@hotmail.com

Director: Mrs. Karen Mowry
775-741-5269, Karenm@catholicreno.org

 

Help line: 775-324-4325

Chairman: Mrs. Julianna Jervis


Executive Secretary: Mrs. Linda Ugalde
775-626-8196, respectlife@catholicreno.org

Assistant to Youth Ministry 775-326-9413
Chancellor/Deacon Joe 775-326-9429
Deacon Joseph Bell 775-372-9786
Breanna Balmut 775-326-9434
Carmen Godoy 775-326-9433
David Willems 775-372-6456
Katherine Mello 775-326-9422
Elda Juarez 775-326-9445
Elizabeth Ramos 775-326-9420
JB Benna 775-326-9446
Tom Malone 775-326-9428
Fr. Joseph Abraham 775-326-9416
Matthew Schambari 775-326-9430
Paola Valdez 775-326-9444
Maripaz Ramos 775-326-9423
Tara Snow 775-326-9425
Mike Quilici 775-326-9432
Piedad Gonzales 775-326-9411
Richard Todd 775-326-9417
Rita San Paolo-Oueilhe 775-326-9435
Assistant to Ethnic Ministries 775-326-9415

Lovelock Prison: Reverend Kuriakose Mambrakatt
775-273-2189

 

Carson City: Deacon Michael Johnson
775-885-9682

Director: Unknown at time of Printing
775-222-0027
nvcatholicconference@gmail.com
2805 N. Mountain Street
Carson City, NV 89703

 

-The members of the Nevada Catholic Conference are the Bishops of the Diocese of Las
Vegas and the Diocese of Reno. The Conference allows for the coordination of state-wide
subjects and issues.